Center for Studies in Architecture and Urbanism


Center for Studies
in Architecture and Urbanism

Projeto, Teoria e Crítica em 20 Arquitetos Ibéricos, 1950-1989 Exhibition

March 1 - April 30, 2024, Mondays - Fridays (except public holidays), 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Executive Board Room

'Projeto, Teoria e Crítica em 20 Arquitetos Ibéricos, 1950-1989' is the name of the exhibition that will be inaugurated on March 1, Friday, from 1:45 p.m., in the Atrium of FAUP's Executive Council.

The exhibition provides an overview of the production of twenty architects who share the same historical time and similar geographical and cultural space. To this end, it brings together 18 paintings that summarize the work of José Antonio Corrales, Ramón Vázquez Molezún, Nuno Teotónio Pereira, Fernando Távora, Federico Correa, Oriol Bohigas, Luis Peña Ganchegui, Antonio Fernández Alba, Raúl Hestnes Ferreira, Pedro Vieira de Almeida, Álvaro Siza, Nuno Portas, Manuel Gallego, Juan Daniel Fullaondo, Rafael Moneo, Manuel Solà-Morales, Ricardo Bofill, Juan Navarro Baldeweg, Lluís Clotet and Oscar Tusquets.

It is based on research work, the first phase of which, a systematic survey of texts, conferences, projects and works, has been summarized in summary tables. For each author, or pair of authors, the architectural work is presented alongside their intellectual concerns. The organization of the information in chronological order and the constellation in which the selected names are inserted are intended to encourage cross-reading between debates and authors, from a comprehensive and multifocal perspective, without neglecting the centrality of the housing problem.

The exhibition is the result of the research project 'Housing in the Iberian Peninsula: architecture, theory and criticism in the 1960s and 1970s', developed by researcher Tiago Lopes Dias, selected and funded by the Foundation for Science and Technology.

Research Project


Proponent Institution

Research Group
Atlas da Casa

Tiago Lopes Dias

Conception and Design
Marta Ramos e Pedro Mota